Admin’s Arsenal: lsgrab.exe

Several months ago I found myself with a unique need; I needed to take screenshots of a remote machine at specified times during the day (don’t ask, it’s a long story filled with management douchebaggery). I did quite a bit of searching, and eventually settled on lsgrab.exe by Geert Moernaut.

This little gem is a console application designed to do one thing: take screenshots of remote computers.

There are a few caveats (but it filled the need I had):

  • It is NOT free. It is donation ware, the author requests a €5 donation (about $9 USD), however this is not stated anywhere before you download it (it’s in the readme file in the .zip download).
  • You must have administrative permissions on the target computer.
  • Someone must be logged on to the target computer.
  • Works on Windows 2000, Windows 2003, XP (I haven’t tested it on Vista or 2008 yet).

Since it’s a console app I just copied it into the C:\Windows directory on my workstation, and then wrote a script to use it to take timestamped screenshots (you can view the script I used here). Worked great. I’m not sure what other uses I might find for it, but for the $9 buy in, it is definitely something I will drop into my bag of tricks.

You can download lsgrab.exe here

end

2 Responses to Admin’s Arsenal: lsgrab.exe

  1. Bharath says:

    Nice info

    http://joe-it.com/vbs_lsgrabremote.html

    Link cannot be found.. Please share the script…

    Thanks

  2. Just Joe says:

    Whoops, sorry, forgot to correct that in the transition. Here you are: http://pastebin.com/30k8sYEn

Leave a Reply

